Contest Award

Can’t argue with success, at least that’s what I’ve always heard. I found an unexpected envelope from the ARRL in the mailbox yesterday. It is time to renew, but they generally send those reminders with bulk mail – this was a First Class envelope – Do Not Bend ! Come to find out it is a Contest Award : Single Op Low Power, Alabama Section, 2009 ARRL June VHF QSO Party = Winner ! 222 MHz… Must have been a slow contest, with not many logs submitted. I only had three (3) contacts on 222, but I did have two (2) Grid Squares. Guess that pushed me over the top. Thanks W4ZRZ, AK4FL, and WB4VHF. I was using my HT on FM, with a simple ground plane antenna held up toward the ceiling. That way I could move it around easily to peak up the signals. This is sort-of a forgotten band, but has good scoring capability… Check it out next contest. Seems I’ve had more than three (3) contacts before, but this time that’s all it took. HERE is the blog entry from that event.

Award Certificate - Winner 222 MHz

Winner 222 MHz ! 2009 ARRL JUNE VHF QSO PARTY

One response to “Contest Award

  1. Pingback: Contest Award !!! | MSFC Amateur Radio Station

Leave a Reply

