K4BFT Field Day

Sure is a lot of stuff packed into one weekend during Field Day. We unhook stuff at home, pack it into the car, take it somewhere, unpack it, hook it all up and make it work, use it for 24 hours, and then unhook everything pack it again, take it home, and then have to re-hook up everything like it was . . . . But we seem to have a good time doing it.

I’m gonna come back and add more pics, and words here – but I wanted to at least get one pic posted showing where I had all my stuff setup.

The K4BFT VHF station at the US Space & Rocket Center

The K4BFT VHF station at the US Space & Rocket Center


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
OK, so now it is Saturday, 18th of July and I wanted to post some more of the Field Day pics.
crowds gather at Field Day demos

crowds gather at Field Day demos

Bill - WB8ELK demos the simplex voice repeater in his balloon

Bill - WB8ELK demos the simplex voice repeater in his balloon

Barry - N4MSJ shows us some new ATV fixtures

Barry - N4MSJ shows us some new ATV fixtures

John - N5AYD demos 6 meters in CW mode

John - N5AYD demos 6 meters in CW mode

Alan - WB5RMG finally got everything hooked together

Alan - WB5RMG finally got everything hooked together

Homebrew VHF Quad-Turnsile antennas (EggBeaters)

Homebrew VHF Quad-Turnsile antennas (EggBeaters)

Well, there are certainly more pictures, but that is enough for now. We had a great Field Day, hope you did too.
/;^)

One response to “K4BFT Field Day

  1. Hello WB5RMG,

    I am 4I1LCP and live in the Philippines. I am currently building eggbeater II antennas for both 2m and 70cm. I would so much appreciate if you could assist me on a few questions.

    There seems to be a discrepancy on the “624mm” dimension in this article referring to K5OE’s design (http://wb5rmg.somenet.net/k5oe/Eggbeater_2.html).
    I’ve seen a drawing from EA-40CYQ where the dimension is “632.8mm” (http://www.g4ztd.info/my-egg-beater-antenna/)

    I am using soft drawn copper tubes and working these with a bender tool with a 30mm radius. At the corners of the loop and due to my radius, I would be then shorter by 13mm against a true sharp 90deg bend. Should I lengthen my loop by 13mm x 4? Or should I just build the loop exactly as a 508mm x 624mm rectangle? If I compensate for the 13mm, then my rectangular dimensions should be 508mm x 650mm?

    I have difficulty finding the RG62 (93ohm) coax for the phasing/delay line. What do you think will the effects be if I use a 75ohm coax? Is there a way around this?

    Thank you for your attention and I wish you all the best.

    73,
    Ruel, 4I1LCP

Leave a comment